PSFÉ Yukon logo Les professions de la santé
au Yukon: trouvez votre place

Reconnaissance des compétences acquises à l’étranger

Professions de la santé réglementées :

Professions de la santé réglementées

Hygiéniste dentaire

 

Accréditation professionnelle

Pour pouvoir travailler comme hygiéniste dentaire au Yukon, vous devez d’abord vous faire accréditer par le gouvernement du Yukon.

La Direction de l’accréditation professionnelle et des affaires réglementaires du ministère des Services aux collectivités est l’organisme de réglementation des hygiénistes dentaires au Yukon. Son site Web se trouve au community.gov.yk.ca.

Veuillez lire les sections Reconnaissance des compétences et Examens nationaux d’admission à la profession avant de communiquer avec l’organisme de réglementation.

Coordonnées de l’organisme de réglementation au Yukon :

Bureau du registraire des professions dentaires
À l’attention de l’agent au traitement des licences
Accréditation professionnelle et affaires réglementaires
Ministère des Services aux collectivités
Gouvernement du Yukon
C.P. 2703, C-5
Whitehorse (Yukon)  Y1A 2C6
Canada

Téléphone : 867-667-5111
Télécopieur : 867-667-3609
Courriel : plra@gov.yk.ca 
Site Web : community.gov.yk.ca

Dispositions législatives

Au Yukon, la profession d’hygiéniste dentaire est régie par les lois suivantes :

Loi sur la profession dentaire
Règlement sur les professions dentaires

Reconnaissance des compétences

Le Bureau national de la certification en hygiène dentaire (BNCHD) évalue les qualifications internationales afin de déterminer l’admissibilité à l’examen national d’admission à la profession appelé Examen de certification nationale en hygiène dentaire. Afin d’être considéré pour une Évaluation de diplômes et de qualifications, chaque postulant doit satisfaire aux exigences minimales. Pour prendre connaissance du processus d’évaluation, veuillez consulter le site Web du BNCHD, au ndhcb.ca.

La marche à suivre pour la reconnaissance des compétences donne un aperçu du processus d’accréditation professionnelle au Yukon.

Examen national d’admission à la profession

Tous les hygiénistes dentaires doivent passer l’Examen de certification nationale en hygiène dentaire administré par le BNCHD. Pour tous renseignements, veuillez visiter le site Web du BNCHD, au ndhcb.ca.

Programmes de préparation à l’emploi

L’Université de la Colombie-Britannique (UBC) offre un programme intitulé International Degree Completion Program (pour diplômés étrangers) aux hygiénistes dentaires diplômés ou certifiés d’un programme suivi ailleurs qu’en Amérique du Nord. Pour toute information à ce sujet, consultez le site de l’UBC, au dentistry.ubc.ca.

Compétences linguistiques

Pour travailler comme hygiéniste dentaire au Canada, vous devez avoir une maîtrise passable de l’anglais ou du français. Les compétences linguistiques étant évaluées par Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada au moment de votre demande d’immigration, veuillez consulter le site Web du ministère, au www.cic.gc.ca/francais/immigrer/qualifie/langues-test.asp pour tout renseignement sur le sujet.

Autres carrières

Si vous n’envisagez pas de travailler comme hygiéniste dentaire, peut-être voudrez-vous faire carrière comme assistant ou assistante dentaire. Cette profession n’est pas réglementée au Yukon, et les employeurs publient parfois des offres d’emploi dans les journaux locaux ou sur le site www.yuwin.ca.

Pour de l’information à l’intention des assistants dentaires, rendez-vous au cicic.ca.

Yukon IEHP logo Find Your Place in
Yukon's Healthcare Workforce

Foreign Qualification Recognition

Regulated Health Professions

Regulated Health Professions

Dental Hygienists

 

Licensing Information

Before you can work as a Dental Hygienist in Yukon, you need to get a licence from the Government of Yukon.

The Government of Yukon’s Professional Licensing & Regulatory Affairs Branch in the Department of Community Services is the regulatory authority for Dental Hygienists in Yukon. Their website can be accessed by visiting www.community.gov.yk.ca/dental/.

Please review the information under Qualification Recognition and National Entry-to-Practice Exam before contacting the regulator.

Contact information for the Yukon regulator is:

Office of the Registrar of Dental Professions
Attn. Licensing Officer
Professional Licensing & Regulatory Affairs Branch
Department of Community Services
Government of Yukon
P.O. Box 2703, C-5
Whitehorse YT   Y1A 2C6   Canada

Phone : 867-667-5111
Fax : 867-667-3609
Email :  plra@gov.yk.ca 
Website:  www.community.gov.yk.ca/dental/

Legislation

Dental Hygiene is governed by the following laws:

Yukon Dental Profession Act

Yukon Dental Profession Regulation

Qualification Recognition

The National Dental Hygiene Certification Board (NDHCB) assesses international qualifications in order to determine eligibility to write the national entry-to-practice exam called the National Dental Hygiene Certification Examination. In order to be considered for an Assessment of Credentials and Qualifications, any applicant must meet a set of minimum requirements. Please visit their website at http://www.ndhcb.ca/en/exam_eligibility.php to review the assessment process.


The pathway map to recognition provides an overview of the licensing process in Yukon.

National Entry-to-Practice Exam

All dental hygienists need to pass the National Dental Hygiene Certification Examination administered by the National Dental Hygiene Certification Board (NDHCB). Please visit their website at http://www.ndhcb.ca/en/exam_eligibility.php for more information.

Bridging Programs

The University of British Columbia (UBC) offers an International Degree Completion Program for qualified dental hygienists who have a dental hygiene diploma/certificate from a dental hygiene program outside North America. For more information please visit UBC’s website at http://www.dentistry.ubc.ca/Education/Hygiene/international/.

Language Proficiency

You are expected to have reasonable fluency in either English or French to become a Dental Hygienist in Canada. Language fluency is evaluated by Citizenship and Immigration Canada when you apply for immigration. Please visit their website at http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/immigrate/skilled/language-testing.asp for more information.

Related Careers

If becoming a dental hygienist is not an option, you could pursue a career as a dental assistant. This is an unregulated profession in Yukon and job offerings may be advertised in the local newspapers or on www.yuwin.ca.

For general information about dental assistants go to the website of the Canadian Information Centre for International Credentials.