PSFÉ Yukon logo Les professions de la santé
au Yukon: trouvez votre place

Reconnaissance des compétences acquises à l’étranger

Professions de la santé réglementées :

Études

Apprentissage de l’anglais

 

Bien que de nombreuses langues soient parlées dans les foyers et dans certains milieux de travail au Yukon, l’anglais est la principale langue parlée dans le territoire. Une bonne maîtrise de l’anglais est donc essentielle aux professionnels de la santé formés à l’étranger (PSFÉ). Ainsi, si l’anglais n’est pas votre langue maternelle, nous vous conseillons de commencer par étudier cette langue et passer les tests de compétences linguistiques.

Si vous avez choisi une profession réglementée, communiquez avec l’organisme de réglementation pour connaître les exigences linguistiques propres à votre profession.

Plusieurs programmes d’enseignement des langues sont offerts à Whitehorse :

- Cours de langue de niveau avancé : dispensés par le Collège du Yukon. Ce programme gratuit de 15 semaines à temps complet améliorera votre expression orale et votre compréhension de la terminologie du métier.

- Anglais langue seconde (ALS) : Le Collège du Yukon offre une variété de cours d’anglais langue seconde. Il décerne un certificat pour chaque niveau réussi. Ces cours sont payants.

L’Association franco-yukonnaise offre aussi des cours d’anglais langue seconde.

- Cours de langue pour les immigrants au Canada (CLIC) : Le Centre multiculturel du Yukon offre des cours d’anglais axé sur l’acquisition des compétences nécessaires pour participer à la vie communautaire et travailler au Canada, à savoir l’écoute, la lecture, l’expression orale et l’expression écrite. Les élèves peuvent étudier au niveau qu’ils le désirent et progresser à leur propre rythme. Parrainés par le gouvernement, ces cours sont gratuits pour tous les immigrants, sans égard à leur statut.

Peu de cours de langue sont offerts dans les autres collectivités du Yukon, mais il existe des cours en ligne, notamment ceux de la Mount Royal University.

Le Centre des niveaux de compétence linguistique canadiens (CNCLC) est le centre d’expertise qui appuie et promeut les normes nationales existant en anglais et en français pour décrire, mesurer et reconnaître la maîtrise de la langue seconde des nouveaux arrivants, des immigrants adultes et des immigrants potentiels désireux de venir vivre et travailler au Canada. Les apprenants trouveront des conseils utiles sur le site Web du CNCLC.

Yukon IEHP logo Find Your Place in
Yukon's Healthcare Workforce

Foreign Qualification Recognition

Regulated Health Professions

Education

Learning English

 

Although many languages are spoken in Yukon homes and some workplaces, English is the predominant language in Yukon. Adequate English language skills are essential for internationally educated health professionals (IEHPs) whose first language is not English. Therefore, it is recommended that you start your health career journey by studying English and taking the required language tests if English is not your mother tongue.

If your chosen field is a regulated profession please contact the regulatory authority to find out about profession-specific language requirements.

Several different language programs are available in Whitehorse:

Enhanced Language Training (ELT)

Enhanced Language Training is offered at Yukon College.  This free, full-time, 15-week program will improve your language fluency and comprehension of work-specific terminology.

English as a Second Language (ESL)

Yukon College offers a variety of options to study English as a Second Language. A certificate is granted after successful completion of each level. You must pay applicable fees to participate in these classes.

SOFA Yukon also offers ESL classes.

Language Instruction for Newcomers to Canada (LINC)

The Multicultural Centre of the Yukon offers English language training that concentrates on the language skills needed for integrating into community life and work in Canada, specifically listening, speaking, reading and writing skills. You can develop your English language proficiency at the level you need and progress at your own rate. These government-sponsored classes are free of charge for all immigrants regardless of status.


Language training classes in other Yukon communities are limited but online options are available such as courses at Mount Royal University.

The Centre for Canadian Language Benchmarks (CLB) is the centre of expertise in support of the national standards in English and French for describing, measuring and recognizing second language proficiency of adult immigrants and prospective immigrants for living and working in Canada. The Centre provides useful tips on its website at www.language.ca for language learners.